In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Fireside Chat.”

What person whom you don’t know very well in real life — it could be a blogger whose writing you enjoy, a friend you just recently made, etc. — would you like to have over for a long chat in which they tell you their life story.

Writing this post got me thinking. ‘is there anyone I would really love to have a chat with?’, it hit me, for the long months I offered a German Language Course, I had longed for nothing but to have a long chat with my teacher. Unfortunately, I never had the opportunity. You might be surprised, why the longing. I wore a flowing gown on the Monday I won’t forget in a hurry, standing before 33 people from different nationalities, the black, dark, white, red, orange-yellow and green skin colours were all humbly represented. ‘Where do I start from’? I took the best bet and sat at the far end of the classroom, there I can feed my eyes and notice anything unusual – it was the best idea.

We consisted of the brilliant, the knowledgeable, the psycho, the carefree and the ‘dumb’. We were a pair carefully selected as a ‘punishment’ for the ‘sins’ of the teacher. As I watched everyday from the rear, trying to digest this difficult language, I couldn’t miss the manner and approach in which she went about the lessons, her patience was infectious. There was something about her I couldn’t put my hand on. It was more like telepathy, we had a bond, a silent bond, we understood ourselves from deep within. It was so strong. When we made mistakes, she laughed at us, when we failed to write our homework, she become sad and stern, when we worked in groups, she explained slowly to every group member untill we understood, when we showed little interest in learning, she became motivated, when we cry because of private reasons, her shoulders were always available.

In the course of the Course, my admiration grew to an outburst, there was something about this lady? could it be her many years of experience? could it be her childhood upbringing? Could it be the classy and elegant way she carries herself? Could it be the way she treated a multiracial classroom as one race? Could it be her passion for teaching or could it be that when I look into her eyeglasses, I see beyond the physical into a realm of something bigger and greater than my slender built teacher. As I shook her hands on the last day, I was tempted to ask for a contact which I did not, I was fulfilled with the hand shake, it said it all, it gave me a deeper understanding, will I miss her? You should ask for her name.

I would really love to have a long chat with her, I still feel the connection.

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/fireside-chat/”>Fireside Chat</a>

